Lord Foul’s Bane
(The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant the Unbeliever #1)
by Stephen R. Donaldson (1977)

Originally purchased in the 1970’s, the paperback sat on my shelf for years, eventually being joined by…

The Illearth War (1978)
The Power that Preserves (1979)
The Wounded Land (1980)
The One Tree (1982)
White Gold Wielder (1983)

There was a final quartet:
The Runes of the Earth (2004)
Fatal Revenant (2007)
Against All Things Ending (2010)
The Last Dark (2013)

That were not purchased.

The books are about  Thomas Covenant the Unbeliever  in a strange alternate world. He was a leper, but in the new world he is  regarded as a reincarnation of a great hero.

Generally well-written and clear. However very slowly paced. I managed to get through about 40% of the first book.

Then there was a massive info-dump back story and it became clear that this author was not going to follow the axiom ‘show, don’t tell’.

After a massive groan I put the book down and have not returned.